Misc.

Film Club

Image

When I was younger, I was going to be an actress. And then I was going to be a director and then a cinematographer. I did those ‘When I Grow Up’ school projects on them and everything. Clearly that changed (though who knows, I have time. I can cross off that whole ‘actress’ thing off though because being in front of the camera? Why would anyone want to give up the chance to boss other people around?) I used to watch movies in my spare time, even if that time wasn’t actually spare and was actually supposed to be meant for homework. I’d watch and watch and watch. After I changed my mind and decided that that wasn’t for me (that was during my “I’m going to be a marine biologist’ phase, in case you were wondering), I still found that I still loved movies, that I still loved being able to tell a story with visuals (dingdingding, photojournalism: we have a winner).

I don’t have as much time, but yet have managed to watch a lot of movies in the last little while. The four above are a small sampling of what I’ve watched and either really liked or absolutely loved. Midnight in Paris is the one that’s gotten dumped in the ‘really liked’ category. And I still don’t know if it’s because I’m this whole weird Hemingway/Fitzgerald/Stein/Guggenheim/Paris in the 20’s kick I’m on or because I genuinely like the movie. A little bit of both? The other three however, I would suggest in a heartbeat, with Pelada being my first rec, hands down. It took me about twenty minutes to get over the fact that I didn’t like how awkward the voice overs sounded, but by the end I had embraced the awkward and was instead sniffling because apparently that’s what I do when something gives me all of the feelings. If you haven’t read I Capture the Castle, get up and go do it. I’ll wait for you here. I had that book out of the library so much I might as well have owned the damned thing. I’m normally in the book >>> movie camp, and while that camp still is mine with this book, the movie is one of the better book to movie sets out there. 

What have you guys been watching lately and would recommend? Or else warn everyone to stay away from because their eyeballs don’t deserve that?

(Also: I’ve gotten really witty with my titles, haven’t I? How do people constantly come up with titles for posts? I’m pretty sure that’s why I used to post so sporadically. Coming up with an awesome title really is the hardest part and after sitting here for fifteen minutes it’s like, “Why am I putting myself through this?” I’ll get through this though, I promise. Better titles: coming soon!)

Things I’m Loving:

+ These photographs – (The last one is my absolute favourite.)

+ These advent calendar DIYs – (I’m thinking that I want to do one of these with the next kids I au pair for. It would be such a fun activity!)

+ This post – (The boots, Diana, shoes for travelling. What’s not to love?)

+ This article – (I now want red cards so I can make people slink off, never to be seen again.)

Standard

Leave a Reply

