Alberta

All Settled In & Sunday Drives in the Country

Eight-year-old Adam Smith and his 10-year-old Liam play in the Meeting Creek grain elevator during Alberta Open Farm Days. The brothers explored the elevator and the old train station as their mother helped out with the activities planned throughout the day in Meeting Creek, Alta. on Sunday August 23, 2015. Amielle Christopherson/Camrose Canadian/Postmedia NetworkIt’s quarter to eleven and I have banana bread baking in the oven because I realized I had way too many bananas and knew, I just knew, that if I put it off until tomorrow, it wouldn’t get made. So, out came the bowls and the measuring cups and the mixing spoons and in less than 20 minutes, in it went. And I’ve been finishing knocking things off my to-do list as I’m waiting and I knew, just knew, what else I had to get done, since the thought of sitting down and writing a blog post didn’t make me want to slam my laptop shut and not look at another photo ever again. 

Readers from the Camrose Public Library's Summer Reading Program flocked to the library for an afternoon of water fun to celebrate the end of the summer program. Snacks, cake and games were on hand for the children, who had participated in the library's program that tracks readers' progress to earn themselves prizes throughout the summer.in Camrose, Alta. on Thursday August 20, 2015. Amielle Christopherson/Camrose Canadian/Postmedia Network

Readers from the Camrose Public Library's Summer Reading Program flocked to the library for an afternoon of water fun to celebrate the end of the summer program. Snacks, cake and games were on hand for the children, who had participated in the library's program that tracks readers' progress to earn themselves prizes throughout the summer.

I’ve thought about writing a blog post often the last few months, cringing every time I think of how long it’s been since the last time I posted, especially since I made such an effort to be so consistent. But that was before and I’ve had to learn to accept that. That was before I got a full time job, a job that requires me to write and take and edit photos on a daily basis. Before I was the one who had to run my own household and errands. Before I had to commute an hour a day to work. It was just before a lot of different things, really, and as much as I would have liked to, there just wasn’t space in my brain for anything more.

Jake Vermeer, son of Vermeer Dairy owners Marijn and Ans Vermeer, shares a video of cows being milked during a tour of the dairy farm during Alberta Open Farm Days. The Vermeers immigrated to Canada in 1993 and have built a dairy farm with 420 cows, all of which are milked twice a day. in Kelsey, Alta. on Sunday August 23, 2015. Amielle Christopherson/Camrose Canadian/Postmedia Network

Wayne and Evelyn Kraft show off their kaskap bushes during Alberta Open Farm Days. The owners of Roseberry Lane Market Garden invited visitors to tour their extensive gardens, which boast Saskatoon and raspberry bushes, as well as sour cherries and rhubarb in Meeting Creek, Alta. on Sunday August 23, 2015. Amielle Christopherson/Camrose Canadian/Postmedia NetworkWhile things haven’t necessarily slowed down at all (back to school means things are going to right back up), I feel more settled. I’ve moved (and moved. and moved.). I’ve taken my first ‘time off work’ holiday. I’ve bought a new car and managed to get the old one back to Saskatchewan. I’ve enrolled in school and start next Wednesday (!!!). It feels as if all the big things that need to be taken care of have been taken care of. So now, I’m sharing.

Alan Irving, of Irvings Farm Fresh LTD., welcomed visitors to tour his farm and take a look at his free range Heritage Berkshire pigs during Alberta Open Farm Days. Irving said that numbers dropped this year, but that with an inrease of farms open for the weekend, visitors from last year would have opted to visit new farms this year.  in Round Hill, Alta. on Sunday August 23, 2015. Amielle Christopherson/Camrose Canadian/Postmedia Network

Five-year-old Zoe Saranchuck and her three-year-old sister Rachel test drive a combine at Banack's Homestead during Alberta Open Farm Days The sisters made three stops with their parents over the course of the day, starting off at Irvings Fresh Farm LTD. and ending with a stop to JoJo's Maze Craze. AMIELLE CHRISTOPHERSON/CAMROSE CANADIAN/POSTMEDIA NETWORK in Round Hill, Alta. on Sunday August 23, 2015. Amielle Christopherson/Camrose Canadian/Postmedia Network

Alberta Open Farm Days and Prairie Fun Days was Aug. 22 & 23 and found me driving through the county on a sunny, perfect end of summer Sunday, off to visit five different host sites. I stopped by one of western Canada’s oldest train stations, swung by a u-pick berry farm and drank the most amazing iced tea I think I’ve ever had, before I had a very interesting 45 minute tour at a local dairy farm, snapped a quick photo of girls on combines before heading over to pick up what I’m anticipating are going to be some of the best sausages I’ve had to date. The best part? (Other than the food.) I hadn’t had that much stress free fun taking photos in what felt like a long, long time. Everything you could ask for out of a day.

Standard

Leave a comment