Alberta

The Last Six Months…

Radek

These aren’t part of my #The100DaysProject, but I realized that they give a pretty good summary of what I’ve been up to lately. (Of course, by ‘lately’ I do mean ‘the last six months that I haven’t been blogging’. Whoops!) My roommate adopted a cat about three weeks after I moved in and while we’ve had to childproof half the cupboards, he’s the apple of our eyes and one handsome, spoiled feline. 

nhl

Truth bomb time: Before I started my job at the Canadian, I was not a huge hockey fan. To those who asked while I was abroad, I would shake my head and tell them, “Nope, I don’t even like hockey,” before gushing about football for the good part of an hour. Oh how the tides have changed. After spending the better part of my last three months living in rinks watching our local AJHL team, the Kodiaks, and our ACAC team, the Vikings, I get it. I mean, I don’t get all the nuances of the sport, but I’ve caught a feeling similar to the one that pulled me into football and it’s exciting! I even had the chance to see my first NHL game, watching the Jets play the Oilers with friends late last month and guys: I’m in. I’m so here for this sport.

salmorejo kaleWhen I was on my way home, one of the things I was most excited about getting to do again was cooking.  I had recipes marked out and grand plans in my head of all the cooking I would do. While a lot of things didn’t quite pan out the way I’d envisioned, I have managed to get my time in the kitchen. Dill pickle soup (I might have to do a post) has been a favourite, as has this Vegan Carrot Jalepeno Soup, Jalepeno Popper Stuffed Chicken Breast and this Roasted Sweet Potato Quinoa and Egg Bowl. I finally tried my hand at salmorejo, which I need to remake with a little less garlic next time but was otherwise delicious and salt & vinegar kale chips because I may be years late to this party, but I still showed up.

snow

I may have also looked forward to being in a car (though the car payments I could have done without) and the drives have not disappointed. While it may not always be pleasant (talking about you, snowstorms), it’s my half an hour every day where I turn up the radio and scan the radio for whatever catches my fancy. Mostly it’s country, some alternative, there’s CBC Radio 2 and then the French station I listen in on when I’m feeling particularly ambitious. Here’s hoping we’re done with the snow for the year and I’ll be home in time to catch the sunsets.

Things I’m Loving:

+ The Horror of Amazon’s New Dash Button – (Though I’m one of those people who don’t mind grocery shopping, sooo…)
+ Ellen Pao & the Sexism You Can’t Quite Prove – (All the little uncomfortable, unnamable things.)
+ 20 Tips From Female Entrepreneurs – (Yes and yes and yes.)
+ What Ruth Bader Ginsburg Taught Me About Being a Stay-At-Home Dad – (An older piece but so, so good!)

Standard

Leave a comment