France

Book Club

ImageImage

You  know what’s great when learning a language? Finding books and authors you love to read it in. This company, Folio, has a collection of 2€, less than a 100 page books that you can buy. Which is fantastic because it makes me feel like I’m accomplishing something without having to force myself through it too often. I finished La solitude lumineuse by Pablo Neruda and have started Une drôle traversée by Ernest Hemingway.  (I’m also muddling through this copy of La Centaine d’amour by Pablo Neruda. It has the original Spanish poems on the opposite pages, which makes me feel a lot more intelligent than I really am.)

Things to get used to:

1. These: << >> as quotation marks. That just throws you off. It really does.

2. Dialogue in general. Just all of it. It’s weird and kind of bizarre and means you have to focus and my brain is wondering what is up with this. (I’ve always been one of those annoying speed readers. I allowed to leave my English class during high school when we were doing novel studies so I could work at my own pace. I finished the novel a month before everyone else and now my brain is judging me because it wants to go faster and can’t. The dilemmas I have.)

But: each of the books has a mini biography about the author that is way sweet and makes me feel good about myself because I understand it all (mostly because I spent all weekend googling the living daylights out of some of my favourite authors. I have an intense social life.)

Now I want to know: what are you all reading? Do you read one book at a time, or, like me, do you bounce around from book to book? And: do you have any suggested reading? Suggested reading is to me is what a Lulu Lemon store is to my sister: addictive.

Things I’m Loving:

I have been so ridiculously busy today that I have quite literally nothing I love to link you to. I’ll make it up tomorrow!

Standard

2 thoughts on “Book Club

  1. Ooh, that’s such a great idea! I’ve been studying French, and I bought La Delicatesse in French, but it was too advanced for me at this stage. I also don’t know enough phrases or ways of putting things for it all to make sense. It doesn’t work when you translate it literally! I was thinking of buying Harry Potter in French, so it’s something simpler, plus something I’m very familiar with.

    I’m drawing a blank on recommendations! Hmm. I just read The Book Thief by Markus Zusak and that was good. I loved On Beauty by Zadie Smith and The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman. Hmm.

    (Btw, hi, this is Shani [abitunlikely from Twitter/LJ], and this is obviously not my football blog that I mentioned! Ha)

  2. Hello, for an easy French reading you can try books by Anna Gavalda. For more complex and weird stories my fav is Amélie Nothomb. Bises de Paris.

Leave a Reply

