PhotoJ

Favourite Photogs: Ryu Voelkel

R-MadridVR-Sociedad20131362

Two things: 1. Part of my decision was based on this top photo. Because: Champion’s League final and I have football feels!!!!  2. I can’t believe I haven’t posted about  Ryu Voelkel yet. I first saw his work in my second year at Loyalist and haven’t been able to get enough since. He shoots mainly sports photography and, you guys, it’s brilliant. It’s creative, it’s a bit out of left field, it’s just really, really great.

2013WCSwimmingBarcelona697

Baseball in Dominican Republic

201403BayernMVHoffenheim0248

ChelseaVOM2010010

DR5Day0156

DR6Day0153

EC2012Helsinki5935

Voelkel consistently makes me stop and look again with his framing, his use of slow motion, his eye for details. It makes me rethink how sports photography can be shot, to find ways around what could be viewed as obstacles. His photography is a lesson in how breaking or bending the rules is definitely okay, that the focal point doesn’t always have to be the most obvious object in the photo.

EisbaerenVKoeln20130354

EricBompard2012119

GermanyVSweden20120018

shibuya1

YoshidaXSportsGraphicNumber

nankatsu1-1

Neymar (10, Brazil) and fans during Spain v Brazil Confederations Cup 2013 30/6/13

I also love how bright his photography always seems to be. The colours are always a punch in the face, right in the eyeballs, vivid. Even when there’s a lot of black, it still doesn’t feel heavy, it’s not overbearing. Which I love, a lot. Voelkel is also going to be working on a project for the Brazil World Cup, which I’m super excited about. I can’t wait to see how it turns out and once it comes out, I’m hoping I’ll have the cash to pick up a copy because I know it’ll be fantastic.

Things I’m Loving:

+ Sad Desk Lunch – (Eat away from your desk.)
+ Embrace the near win – (On mastery and tenacity.)
+ The future of airlines? – (Super interesting for you travellers out there.)
+ Famous paintings recreated with LEGO – (This is so cool!)

Standard

Leave a Reply

