Misc.

Hello, All of You

IMG_8678

So I found this new blog the other day, which you should definitely check out because it’s lovely and wonderful and has amazing photography and those are good things to have in your bloglovin’. In the first post of hers that I read, she did a kind of ‘get to know you’ bit that I really liked and that I want to do over here. Blogging, by its very nature, is very self absorbed. About what I’m doing and seeing and thinking and I would love to include more of the ‘you’ into it. I love meeting new people and I would really love to meet those of you who read my blog!

So! In the comments, let me know:

1 – Where do you live and where are you from?
2 – What are your top 5 favourite books, 4 favourite movies, 3 favourite songs, 2 favourite blogs and number 1 favourite dessert?
3 – If you could hop on a plane right now, where would you go?
4 – Three things you’re thankful for right now.
5 – An interesting fact about yourself and something/anything you’d like to share (a photo, a song, a podcast, etc.)
IMG_8680
My answers:
1 – Currently in Madrid and from Saskatchewan.
2 – Atonement by Ian McEwan, The Lord of the Rings Trilogy by J.R.R. Tolkien, A Tree Grows in Brooklyn by Betty Smith, I Capture the Castle by Dottie Smith, Fever Pitch by Nick Hornby
   – Chocolate cheesecake (or creme brulee. Super tough call to be honest.)
3 – If I could go anywhere, I’d head home for a visit.
4 – I’m thankful for Skype and keeping me in contact with friends and family back home, long afternoon walks in the sunny fall weather and free trips to museums.
5 – I’m having a tough time with this one, so tapping out but: have a Guardian quiz  and dancing Calvin & Hobbes for your time.
 
Standard

5 thoughts on “Hello, All of You

  1. Jess A says:

    Her blog is fantastic. Thanks for the recommendation! I can’t believe the sense of maturity and presence in her post (for someone still in high school, too!).
    In response to your questions, here we go!
    1) Ontario, Canada
    2) Alice in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll, The Life of Pi by Yann Martel, The Art of Racing in the Rain by Garth Stein, All My Friends Are Dead (makes me laugh every.single.time) by Avery Monsen and Jory John, and certainly not least, a tie beween two childhood favourites: Goodnight Moon by Margaret Wise Brown, and The Velveteen Rabbit by Margery Williams.
    -Elf, Harvey, Zoolander, Monty Python and the Quest for the Holy Grail (this list is entirely too telling of my personality…)
    -Cupcakes and Cashmere and Keiko Lynn (both pretty delightful fluff)
    -If it has sugar in it, I will eat it.
    3) Berlin, Germany, and then tour through Eastern Europe.
    4) I’m thankful for coffee, my awesome family who buoys me up during the more depressing winter season, and bandaids. Always bandaids.
    5) I sucked my thumb until I was 12. And I will get back to you about a song…

    Also – I share your love of LOTR! What were your thoughts on The Hobbit movie?

    • No problem! I absolutely love stumbling on fun new blogs to share!

      I actually finally read The Life of Pi this summer and was so torn by how much I thought I would like it and how it didn’t entirely meet my expectations. The descriptions were beautiful but it just somehow fell short.

      Up until the last few months, I’ve always been a Western Europe kind of girl, but I’ve started meeting people from and hearing about places in Eastern Europe and now I’m getting quite itchy about wanting to travel over there. Hopefully one day. (Soon!)

      Bandaids are good. Very good. 🙂

      I actually haven’t seen The Hobbit yet. :/ I’m embarrassingly super behind on most films from the last two years. I keep saying that I’ll sit down and watch them, but it gets so lonely watching a movie by yourself. Hopefully I’ll see it before the next one comes out in December!

  2. Pingback: Au Pair Lessons: Find Friends That Complement You | Blue Eyed Sight

  3. ahhh! i love you thank you so much:)

    1. washington, dc – barcelona, spain
    2. *oliver twist, this is life, anna karenina, the god of small things, the fault in our stars, girl with a pearl earring – i know it’s six, but i could not decide.
    *notting hill, life is beautiful, anna karenina, chocolat
    *lluis llach’s “que tinguem sort”, passenger’s “let her go”, of monsters and men’s “dirty paws”
    *a cup of jo, emmadime
    *tiramisú
    (i’m very bad at making decisions, so none of these are my actual real all time favorites, hehe)
    3. i’d go to amsterdam and meet up with my childhood group of friends (one is in england, the rest in barcelona)
    4. kind strangers, my parents, photography
    5. anything from upworthy.com – it’s the best.

    • I keep meaning to read/watch Anna Karenina and just have not gotten around to it yet, which is awful because so many of my friends love it! Definitely still on my list. And Notting Hill is wonderful. 🙂

      I’ll definitely have to check out your music recommendations! I’ve never been to Amsterdam, though I do have the loveliest guide for visiting. One day! Hopefully soon.

Leave a Reply

