Madrid, Spain

Hello Madrid

DSC_0153

Things a photographer should a.) never do and then b.) never admit to doing: taking a camera with a dead battery out with them. Which means that I ended up lugging a heavy camera with me around Madrid for six+ hours and didn’t get to use it once and that begins to feel more like weight lifting than photography. Thank goodness it’s the 21st century and we have smartphones to help us out, right? 

DSC_0154

DSC_0168

This weekend was spent almost entirely in Madrid. Between going out Friday evening, meeting up for lunch and a long walk Saturday and then a picnic on Sunday, I’m starting to get to know central Madrid quite well. Which means I’m not quite as lost which means that fear of ‘no one will ever find me ever again’ is starting to wear off a bit.  As you can kind of note from this post, I like the buildings in Madrid. Like, a lot. I’m one of those people who walk around looking up and then almost running into garbage cans or light posts. Whoops!

DSC_0170

DSC_0172

DSC_0187

DSC_0192

DSC_0195

Things I will do while living here: take my camera, my 70-200mm and go back here to shoot the sunset. Because it’s absolutely stunning and my phone really didn’t do it any justice, whatsoever.  I mean, I’ll have to battle the 234809834 other people with their tripods and cameras, but that’s half the fun of it, isn’t it?

DSC_0203

DSC_0207

IMG_20131006_182010

Great things: finding your favourite kit in a souvenir shop. I’ve been looking for this kit for almost a year because I was that idiot who bought the away kit that season. I didn’t end up buying it (this time), but next time this baby’ll be mine and I can move on to the next thing to search obsessively for.

Things I’m Loving:

+ This media kit for your blog post – (Annnnd: part II)
+ Frame wall – (One day I will have this.)
+ DIY camera straps  – ( The painted or stamped ones have to be my favourites.)
+ This recipe – (For a snack.)

Standard

6 thoughts on “Hello Madrid

  1. Learning how to do a media kit is all well and good, but you can’t implement any of the analytics tracking in a free WordPress account. Booooo.

    Also, even your camera phone pics are amazing!

    • Ugh, I know! I also wanted to add the CommentLuv plugin, but I can’t seem to figure out how to do it on a free WP account. Which sucks. A lot. On one hand, I would love to buy an account, but on the other, I can’t justify it. :/

      Ahaha, thanks! I really appreciate it. I’ve made sure both my batteries are charged so hopefully that means nicer pictures for next week!

  2. Great photos for a camera! Must be the photographer. That photo frame was something we did in Melville, remember? Photos in frames all around the living-room wall. It was pretty cool! We have one here by the door. Lookng at it, we might have to update some of those photos! Sounds like you are having a great time – I also run into things when we visit places – the architecture and scenery captivate me. Have a great week kiddo!

Leave a Reply

