Sweden, Travel

Touring it up in one of Europe’s oldest cities

*Note: I am so, so sorry that I vanished for the last two weeks. I’ve been in Spain (!!!) for the last two weeks, but, unfortunately, the place I was staying in had no wifi. HOWEVER: I am in Madrid now, with all the wifi a girl could want and will finally continue one with catching you up with all the places I’ve been, people I’ve seen and things I’ve done.*

 

IMG735

After our two days with the car*, we spent day three actually in Lund. Which, if you didn’t know, is one of the oldest cities in Sweden and has one of the oldest universities in Europe, as well as a historic church which contains the heart of Queen Mary’s son, who died on their visit in Lund.  My reaction was kind of like this.  Because why?  

IMG_7399

The university is absolutely gorgeous. I mean, look at it. It’s all stately and well pruned and has that gorgeous fountain and they have trees everywhere, in thanks to Carl Linnaeus, who attended Lund University. (If you want the TL;DR version: he’s famous for the Linnaean taxonomywhich is the system of scientific classification which is used in the biological sciences. Basically: he was kind of really intelligent.)

IMG732

IMG_7403

IMG_7409

IMG_7412

IMG734

IMG733

IMG_7410

IMG_7395

IMG_7420

After hanging out at the university and spending time at the campus, we headed into the town centre and bought delicious ice cream (Agneta claims it’s homemade though I don’t remember seeing a sign, either way: definitely worth it!). After the ice cream, we wandered around, popping into various tourist shops and looking at the Pippi Longstocking knick knacks, moose stitched everything, and just generally enjoying how lovely Lund really is.

IMG740

IMG741

IMG_7385

IMG_7386

IMG_7387

IMG_7390

IMG_7391

After some wandering around, we headed to the Lund Cathedral to see the astronomical clock do its thing. It plays twice a day, at noon and 15h, and we made it there for the second viewing. I’d missed seeing the one in Prague, so it was nice to see this one. They also have the giant in the basement, that’s really not all that tall, but Agneta says that she remembers hearing stories about the giant as a child. About children misbehaving and the giant setting them straight. They also have art installations in the basement. The one they had at the time I was there was pieces of furniture with clothe flowing off and buttons sewn on. Quite pretty to look at, really.

IMG_7455

IMG_7425

IMG_7457

IMG_7431

IMG742

IMG_7470

IMG_7435

IMG_7443

IMG_7451

IMG_7473

IMG_7481

IMG_7475

After the church, we headed back down to Saluhallen, which was unfortunately closed, though I did get a few shots of how pretty it is and if I had had the chance/time, I would have loved to go down to get a cup of coffee or pastries, or you know, some sort of food because Swedes know how to do food.

IMG_7462

IMG_7485

IMG_7465

IMG_7487

IMG_7489

IMG_7490

IMG_7491

IMG_7495

*Agneta doesn’t own her own car, but does have a car that she shares with several other people and can book off for days she needs. Which is actually kind of awesome and she had booked it for the first two days of my visit.

Things I’m Loving:

+ Fallen London – (Because it looks super interesting and lots of fun.)
+ This book – (Because even though the author lives in Saskatchewan, I just read it on my way to Spain.)
+ These places to eat – (Because oh my goodness. It was so good.)
+ This reaction – (Because Brooks is the best when it comes to these sorts of things.)

Standard

One thought on “Touring it up in one of Europe’s oldest cities

  1. Pingback: 14 Moments | Blue Eyed Sight

Leave a Reply

