France, Plateau D'Assy etc.

“Football is the ballet of the masses.” – Dmitri Shostakovich

IMG534

So after my trip to Annecy last week, I stopped in Sallanches on my way back to the mountains. Mostly because my bag was quite literally becoming threadbare and I decided I’d see if I could find a new one, but also because as much as I was tired, I didn’t want to head back quite so soon. So I stopped at this bar. *
IMG535

Obviously this was not the first time I’d seen this bar. I’ve been that creep who stops slowly as they’re passing by and gets this dopey smile on their face as they pass by because: football scarves. (Well, there are hockey and rugby scarves thrown in there as well, but mostly it’s football.)

IMG536I’ve watched sports for years, but football has scarves, something that’s not as prevalent in other sports. And I kind of really like them, actually. I mean, I got stupid giddy the first (and second. and third. and…well, you get the idea) time I ever bought a scarf.

IMG537

I love the fact that this bar just has the biggest range of scarves. Clubs with hard to pronounces names from lower leagues that no one even knows about. (Though, my Verts were well represented, even if Real Madrid isn’t (HOW THOUGH?) and I almost  contemplated seeing if I could find another Toronto FC scarf because MLS clubs need to be represented.)  I also love the fact that it’s the ultimate group project. Just thinking about all the people that brought scarves in and contributed to covering the walls to represent clubs that they love and matches that mean a lot to them makes me stop and think for a moment. I think it’s a perfect example of why I love this sport so much, really. The unity it brings.

IMG539

IMG540

Stepping in also meant I got to see this bad boy flag hanging up. Not that I have space in my suitcase for an extra flag or scarf at the moment, but having a big, scary panther on my wall would be…ferocious, eh? (Now I’m wondering how acceptable it would be for me to cover my own walls with scarves. Because HOW COOL WOULD THAT BE?! )

IMG541

I know super random post is random, and super!, which is how I think posts should be sometimes. Sometimes it feels like my time is taken up with helping with homework and making dinners and hanging up towels. And that is what it is, a lot of the time. But, other times, it’s not. It’s me being dorky and grinning stupidly at football scarves and asking a bar owner if I can take pictures of them. Which I then come and share with you all because, oh well, why the heck not?

*Excuse all these photos. I took them with my phone because I was exhausted and wasn’t really in the mood to explain my camera and it’s awesomeness to someone.

 

Things I’m Loving:

+ 40 Things to do in Europe – (To give you ideas, if you didn’t have any.)
+ On translating place through literature – (Which goes along the lines of untranslatable words.)
+ PlanetEBook – (If you’re looking for something (free) to read.)
+ About heading & consequences – (Could we be seeing soccer head gear?)

 

Standard

One thought on ““Football is the ballet of the masses.” – Dmitri Shostakovich

  1. Maman Jac-o says:

    Cool scarves & I’m sure one day you’ll have a collection that rivals that! Love the new look on your blog:-)
    Hugs from your maman who’s still alive…

Leave a Reply

