Home

Horsing Around

Image

Image

Image

Image

I actually started this post almost a week ago. I feel like that doesn’t sound like a long time, but then I look at the calendar and realize that yes, actually, it is.

I’d never shot a rodeo before and decided to go on my lunch break, just to try it. If you live in a small town, the rodeo is that signifier that summer, warm weather and everything bright and sunny is on its way. (Except it rained all that weekend and cancelled the second half of it.)

So I sat down with my camera and not even five minutes later there’s comments about my lens and how it must just work wonders for me. By now I figure I would be used to people stopping me and asking to talk about what I’m shooting with. And yet, I’m not.

If I had known that there would be such a desire to know about cameras and photography when I moved back home, I would have started something, because I understand that feeling of wanting to know about what someone’s doing, but not being able to understand the language. Because it is, it’s an entire language that needs to be learned and understood and I give kudos to people who, even though they don’t get it, try. They get lost along the way a little, but they still try.

Of course, it’s always easy to forget that, once upon a time, you were in the same position and really wished people would just talk to you in a way that you can understand.

On another note: posts are going to be a little sporadic right now. Between grad and a wedding I shot and have to edit, on top of work and I got my computer checked and need to get it fixed. The joys of photography.

Things I’m Loving:

+ 100 Books to Read This Summer Instead of 50 Shades of Grey – Because if I hear one more person saying that they’re going to read it, I’m going to cry.

+ Iker Casillas asking the Euro Final ref to end it early – It’s beyond late and most people have seen it, but the video just gives me feels. I’m so glad he’s my captain and the term ‘Classillas’ will be used for only the most classiest of people.

+ Frank Ocean – Everyone was talking about it, and again, super late on it, but what he wrote is one of the most beautiful things I’ve read on the internet in a long time. The New York Times did a great article on it.

+ Summer All of the Time – A great mix to hang out on your deck to.

Standard

One thought on “Horsing Around

Leave a Reply

