Uncategorized

Day Three & I’m Still Here

I started my internship on Monday. I’m actually three days in and still here. Which is, you know, a bonus and everything. I’ve learned a lot, too. In a ‘walked around downtown for three days straight’ kind of way, which is good for someone who did but didn’t know where things were.

You know when you’ve been to a place more times than you can count but you’re really bad with directions and for some reason have never really paid attention? No? Oh, maybe that’s just me. Anyways. I’ve done a lot of walking for Planet S’s Best Of issue coming out in a month and I don’t feel so much the country mouse in the city. 

(Well, except yesterday when I got on the wrong #2 bus and went all the way to the opposite side of town before getting on the right #2 and going all the way back. Really wasn’t my finest moment.)

Image

Image

Image

 

No, I can’t explain why all three of these places are bars/pubs. They just happen to be places that I told myself, as I was shooting, that I would like to go back to. Which might say something about me and the influences of my PhotoJ friends…hmmm…

Truth time: it’s weird not shooting back in Belleville. People there are used to all us crazy PhotoJs and our cameras, lenses hanging off of us like extra limbs. Saskatoon, not quite as used to it. No one said anything, but it’s something you can just tell, the eyes sliding past you as you stand on the side of the street, juggling lenses as you’re changing them and praying that, if the lens cap does fall, it’ll fall the right way so no dirt gets on it. The little things, you know?

I’m getting along with everyone here, though. In a ‘we like the same music and T.V. shows even though we’re 30 years apart’ kind of way where we were cracking jokes after 20 minutes. I don’t know, I’d say that that’s a good way to start. 

 

Things I’m Loving:

+ Colour Palette Generator – You know those colour scheme bars that are popping up on blogs everywhere lately? This is a nifty place to get your own and be the envy of everyone who isn’t in on that little secret (like I was). 

+ Light Wheat Bread – Because there is nothing, and I do mean nothing, better than fresh bread with butter melting on it. Nothing. Except if there’s fresh milk to go with it, then it just got better.

+ Pomedôro Bowties – The last thing I need is another bow tie. I don’t, I really don’t. But I would really like one, especially this one or this one.

+ AP 30 Photographers to Watch –  Quite a few photojournalistic shots in there, which is always nice to see. 

Standard

Leave a Reply

