Uncategorized

Talk With Your Hands

Image

I’ve been more than a little MIA lately, and for once I can honestly pinpoint that on the fact that school swallowed me up and then spit me back out and left me on the floor for a bit. (And by ‘the floor’ I do mean ‘Toronto International Airport’ where I bummed around for four hours. Trust me, not attractive.)

However! Before that happened, I took some pictures. Well, I met someone and then I took pictures. Sandra Lynds is a deaf day care worker at a daycare centre in town. Not only does she care for five deaf children when they arrive after school, but she also teaches the other children Sign during the day as she works.

Not only is that more than a bit impressive, but in the last five years, she’s also taught all of the other care workers at the centre how to Sign. Something that required a lot of patience, a lot of work, and made it more understandable to people who, to begin with, were a little scared about the fact that they didn’t know how to communicate with her.

ImageImage

Image

Image

Image

Image

I’ve been home for the last week. Well, flew in on Wednesday, got four teeth taken out on Thursday, home that evening, looking like the most adorable, high chipmunk that ever existed, and then found out Friday, after shooting my sister’s and brothers’ games, realized that I hadn’t packed my battery charger OR my card reader. Because I am the sharpest knife in the drawer, obviously.

But that’s okay! Because I’ll be getting new ones this week, and then back to shooting my family for my documentary project. Which I’ve been doing with a film camera. #likeaboss (I’ll let you know how it turns out.)

 

Things I’m Loving:

+ Being home with my family, and the snow, and the cold

+ TinTin Style – Who doesn’t love TinTin? I mean really. And now with the movie out, there’s a bit more hype over one of the best reporters, ever.

+ Sweet Paul Magazine – I haven’t looked through it completely, yet. But omg! the things look so fantastic and Christmas-y and I’ll be curled up with it in the next couple of days.

+ Christmas Gifts in a Jar – If you haven’t done all your Christmas shopping yet, here’s some quick DIY presents. And I know for a fact that, at least, I would love to have one of them. Perfect winter warmers.

+ Birdlips – If you’ve heard of them, you’re ahead of me. I just ‘discovered’ them yesterday and love their mellow sound. Check out their versions of Christmas music. So perfect, I’ve listened to them on repeat the last two days and love them. So does my mother, and that’s saying something.

Standard

Leave a Reply

